Eeny, meeny, miny, moe; one will stay and the other will go

Is there real value in “sentimental value”? Is “improved” the same as “better”?

I am still trying to answer these questions as I try to choose between these two motorbikes:

My Rouser
My Friend’s Rouser

 

Both have the same make: Kawasaki Rouser 135. I am going to keep one and sell the other. Which one should I choose?

I have had my motorbike for almost two years now and I am still generally satisfied with it. I wouldn’t say that it is still in perfect condition because it has already gone through some repairs and minor damages, but riding it nonetheless, is something I always enjoy.

On the other hand, my friend sold me his Kawasaki Rouser 135. The motorbike has hardly been used and is well-maintained. Moreover, it has undergone many major improvements: new carburettor, new muffler, new head lights, etc. The guy who owned it just wanted the motorbike for leisure and enjoyed upgrading it in different ways. He decided to finally sell the motorbike after two years in order to achieve a more total upgrade: buying a 650 cc sports bike.

I think we can sell this motorbike for a good price, but my brother has pointed out that I will stand to gain more if I keep this bike and sell mine instead.

Here are the main differences between the two vehicles:

Year Purchased 2012 2011
Odometer Reading Approx. 10,000 km Approx. 3,000 km
Carburettor Stock Larger carburettor
Muffler Stock Open pipe, carbon fiber
Throttle Stock More sensitive throttle but loose grip
Head lights Stock LED
Spark Plug Stock Iridium
Externals No improvements Has belly pan, front fender has been modified to suit the belly pan
LTO Registration Until 2014 Last registered in 2012
Riding Experience Sufficiently powerful; can even go up a hill on 2nd or 3rd gear. The motor hardly makes noise. More powerful and accelerates more abruptly. Makes a stronger sound.

Which Value?

Both motorbikes are basically the same, but they still have some differences that matter.

On one hand, my motorbike’s parts are all original but I haven’t upgraded it in anyway. This is because I have been generally satisfied with its performance. I also make sure that it is well-maintained.

I also feel a certain attachment towards this motorbike. It is the vehicle I saved up for. I bought it on February 14 and in a sense, fell in love with it on that Valentine’s Day. I fell from it a couple of times too but also reached many different places riding it. But is there real value in sentimental value?

On the other hand, my friend’s motorbike made an impressive entrance into our garage.

That motorbike generally looked similar but it felt and sounded very different. The idling felt more substantial. Reaching higher rpm’s was much easier. And it made its presence really felt on the road. Some of my friends commented  that it sounded really “macho.” I also know that the motorbike has new motorcycle parts that are even more expensive than the stock parts.

Test Drive

More than comparing the parts, I believe that it is more important to consider the whole; and so, I took my friend’s motorbike on a test drive.

Riding it on a clear road early in the morning was fun. However, riding it later on along cars and on roads that demanded some slowing down imposed some difficulty. It was indeed more powerful and as a result, it accelerated more quickly than my motorbike but it also decelerated more abruptly when I let go of the throttle. The loose throttle grip added to the difficulty, but this could probably be easily fixed (if I decide that it’s worth fixing). The sound it made was also rattling.

I must admit that I feel more comfortable riding my own motorbike. I have more sense of control. Besides, I don’t usually prefer to ride at very high speeds. I am a more cautious driver. However, I can’t help second guessing myself. What if it’s just familiarity that makes me prefer my bike for now?

My motorbike was once intimidating, but my determination to ride it enabled me to practice hard until I was more easily able to do so. I know that if I wanted to learn to ride another bike, I could. The problem is, I am still not sure if I do.

M&M

Leave a Reply

